Descriptions de cours

Objets
 
Format : en personne
Ceci est le premier de deux cours traitant de la conservation préventive. L’objet est examiné et décrit selon ses matières, sa fabrication et sa condition. Les types et causes de détérioration sont également identifiés. L’examen de l’environnement se concentre sur les phénomènes posant des risques potentiels à l’objet. Thèmes centraux : introduction à la conservation préventive, introduction aux matières (cellulosique, protéique, inorganique), agents de détérioration (lumière, humidité relative, polluants, ravageurs, forces physiques, dissociation), comment rédiger un rapport d’état, comment manipuler et étiqueter les objets.
Ce cours est préalable au cours Soin des collections.
Directrice de cours 2016-2017 : Cindy Colford, Conservator, Peterborough Museum & Archives and Instructor, Fleming College
 
 
Soin des collections
 
Formats : en personne ou en ligne (années en alternance)
Ceci est le deuxième de deux cours traitant de la conservation préventive. Les participants apprendront les principes et techniques nécessaires pour prévenir les dommages subis lors de l’entreposage, l’exposition, la manipulation, l’emballage et l’expédition. Le cours abordera la différence entre la conservation préventive et réparatrice et fournira des recommandations pratiques pour les exemples d’objets. Thèmes centraux : conservation préventive, conservation réparatrice et restauration; méthodes d’entreposage sécuritaire; planification des catastrophes; manipulation des collections; méthodes d’exposition sécuritaire; emballage et expédition d’objets; matériaux stables et instables pour exposition et entreposage; ressources abordant la conservation; comment embaucher un restaurateur; rôle d’un restaurateur par rapport au rôle d’un non-restaurateur dans le contexte des soins des collections; nettoyage de base de papier, textiles, céramiques, bois, verre et cuir; détection et prévention des incendies.
Préalable : Objets
Directrice de cours 2016-2017 : Cindy Colford, Conservator, Peterborough Museum & Archives and Instructor, Fleming College
 
 
Gestion des collections
 
Formats : en personne ou en ligne (années en alternance)
Les participants acquerront les connaissances et compétences nécessaires pour gérer les acquisitions, aliénations et prêts, ainsi que pour maintenir la documentation, c’est-à-dire l’infrastructure des collections. Thèmes centraux : objectif de la gestion des collections (confiance du public, activités de gestion des collections, politiques des collections), planification de l’expansion des collections, prêts, acquisitions, rapatriement, aliénation, accès et sécurité, assurance art, gestion des risques, évaluations et reçus aux fins d’impôt, tenue de registres (incluant les systèmes informatisés de gestion de données relatives aux collections).
 
 
Programmes éducatifs
 
Format : en personne
Les participants identifieront les principes de base d’apprentissage touchant plusieurs groupes de visiteurs de musées et acquerront les connaissances nécessaires à l’élaboration et à la mise en oeuvre de programmes éducatifs pour leurs propres institutions. Thèmes centraux : politiques et standards d’interprétation et d’éducation, tenants et aboutissants de l’interprétation, principes d’apprentissage pour la maternelle à la sixième année, apprenants adolescents, musées et curriculums scolaires, élaboration de programmes pour musées, enseignants et musées, éducation pour adultes, développement de la litératie visuelle.
 
 
Planification et conception d’exposition
 
Format : en personne
Les participants apprendront à créer des expositions dynamiques et attrayantes qui accueillent et font participer les visiteurs de tous âges et capacités. Au cours d’activités pratiques, les candidats se familiariseront avec le processus de développement d’une exposition, de l’évaluation des idées et de l’élaboration du concept à la mise en oeuvre et installation sans dépasser le budget. Thèmes centraux : expérience du visiteur, politiques et standards d’exposition, planification pour les familles, rédaction de textes, styles de vitrines, accessibilité physique, répartition d’un panneau graphique, budget pour la création - le tout axé sur l’élaboration d’un plan d’interprétation efficace pour orienter le processus.
Directeur de cours 2016-2017 : John Summers, Manager, Heritage Services and Curator, The Regional Municipality of Halton
 
 
Les musées et la communauté
 
Formats : en personne ou en ligne (années en alternance)
Les participants acquerront les connaissances et compétences nécessaires à coordonner les objectifs et activités du musée avec les besoins des collectivités. Ce cours traite des contextes historiques qui ont favorisé la croissance des musées au Canada ainsi que leurs milieux sociaux, politiques et culturels actuels. Ce cours est conçu pour examiner un vaste éventail d’enjeux des musées en quête de visiteurs et d’appui. L’accent sera mis sur la recherche de solutions pratiques. Thèmes centraux : relations entre les musées canadiens et leurs communautés dans les milieux sociaux, politiques et culturels en constante évolution, dans le contexte de la programmation, du développement des publics et de la collecte de fonds; outils et solutions pratiques pour négocier l’appui de partenaires potentiels et pour communiquer efficacement avec les publics cibles.
Directrice de cours 2016-2017 : Amy Barron, Instructor, Fleming College
 
 
Musées en contexte
 
Format : en ligne
Les participants exploreront l’histoire sociale et le développement des musées à travers une série de thèmes et de contextes. Parmi ceux-ci : Le contexte historique (Origines des musées, Vers une définition contemporaine du musée), Le contexte professionnel (Le personnel de musée en évolution, Outils pour appuyer le professionnalisme), Le contexte social (Les musées et les forces de changement, Regard vers l’avenir des musées).
Directrice de cours 2016-2017 : Amber Lloydlangston, Curator, Regional History, Museum London
 
 
Les musées dans les bâtiments historiques (Gestion des installations)
 
Format : en personne
Les participants acquerront les connaissances et techniques nécessaires à la gestion d’un musée dans le contexte d’un bâtiment historique ainsi qu’au soin apporté au bâtiment en tant qu’artefact. L’objectif de ce cours et de familiariser les participants avec les activités et enjeux de la restauration méticuleuse du bâtiment historique, notamment en ce qui a trait au bâtiment en tant que musée. Thèmes centraux : recherche d’un bâtiment, le bâtiment en tant qu’artefact, planification de l’espace muséal et des besoins du système, réalisation d’un projet d’immobilisation, le musée en tant qu’établissement public, entretien du bâtiment et du terrain, programmation du bâtiment historique.
Directeurs de cours 2016-2017 : Gordon Robinson, Curator, Cultural Services, City of Kingston and Marc Letourneau, Principal, Letourneau Heritage Consulting
 
 
Organisation et gestion de musée
 
Formats : en personne ou en ligne (années en alternance)
Les participants apprendront les objectifs de gestion de musée et de galerie et comment y appliquer ces connaissances aux institutions canadiennes. À travers des lectures, études de cas, projets en groupe et discussions en classe, les candidats développeront des aptitudes nécessaires à la gestion efficace de musée et de galerie. Thèmes centraux : gestion de musée, organisation de musée, gestion stratégique, ressources humaines (rémunérées et bénévoles), ressources financières, gestion de l’information, défis et stratégies actuels de gestion de musée communautaire.
Directrice de cours 2016-2017 : Joan Kanigan, Executive Director, Museum of Ontario Archaeology

CMS Course Descriptions

Read more about the Certificate of Museum Studies courses. Please be advised that course descriptions and formats are subject to change.
 
 
 
 
Artifacts
 
Format: Face-to-face
 
This is the first of two courses which deals with the subject of preventive conservation. The artifact is examined and described in terms of material, manufacture, and condition. Types and causes of deterioration are also identified. Consideration of the environment focuses on phenomena that present themselves as potential hazards to the artifact. Core topics: Introduction to preventive conservation; introduction to the materials (Cellulosic, Proteinaceous, Inorganic); agents of deterioration (light, relative humidity, pollutants, pests, physical forces, dissociation); how to write a condition report; artifact handling,  and artifact labelling.
This course is the prerequisite for Care of Collections.
 

2019-2020 Course Director: Cindy Colford, Conservator, The Manitoba Museum

 
Care of Collections
 
Format: Online
 
This course is the second of two courses on the subject of preventive conservation. Participants will acquire the principles and techniques needed to prevent damage to artifacts during storage, display, handling, packing, and shipping. Differentiation between preventive conservation and treatment conservation will be examined, with practical suggestions for dealing with damaged artifacts provided. Core topics: Preventive Conservation/Treatment Conservation/Restoration; safe storage methods; disaster planning; handling collections; safe exhibition methods; packing & shipping artifacts; stable and unstable materials for exhibits and storage; conservation resources; how to hire a conservator; role of the conservator vs. the non-conservator when caring for collections; basic cleaning of paper, textiles, ceramics, wood, glass, leather, fire detection and prevention.
Prerequisite: Artifacts
 

2019-2020 Course Director: Carmen Li, Head of Conservation, Royal Alberta Museum

 
Collections Management
 
Format: Face-to-face or online in alternating years (2019-2020: Online)
 
Participants will gain information and skills required to manage acquisitions, disposals, and loans, and to create and maintain the body of documentation which is the infrastructure of the collections. Core topics: Purpose of Collections Management (public trust, activities in collections management, collections policy); planning for collections growth; loans; acquisitions; repatriation; deaccessioning; access & security; fine arts insurance; risk management; appraisals/tax receipts; record keeping including computerized collections data management.
 
2019-2020 Course Director: Bev Dietrich, Curator (Retired), Guelph Museums
 
Education and Public Programs
 
Format: Face-to-face
 
The Education and Public Programs course provides a learner-centered approach to the planning and design of engaging and relevant learning experiences for diverse audiences. Students will engage in hands-on and collaborative learning activities, connecting theory to practice while designing programming that responds to emerging trends and shifts in the museum field. Core topics include: philosophies of learning and education, interpretation best practices, design thinking, programming for diverse learners and audiences, evaluation, creative ways to engage new audiences, digital learning and education policy and standards. Students will demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of museum education through the creation of a comprehensive program plan as the culminating course assignment.
 
2019-2020 Course Director: Meredith Leonard, Education and Community Coordinator, Halton Heritage Services; John Summers, Manager, Heritage Services and Curator, Regional Municipality of Halton
 
Exhibit Planning and Design
 
Format: Face-to-face
 
Learn to create vibrant, attractive and accessible exhibits that welcome and engage visitors of all ages. Through presentations, group work and hands-on activities, participants will work through all of the stages in developing a museum exhibit, from initial concept all the way to summative evaluation. Core topics include: the nature of exhibits; the audience; the big idea and exhibit brief; interpretive planning; writing text; budgets; curatorship; design; fabrication and evaluation. Throughout the course the focus is on proven, practical and cost-effective techniques and ideas.
 
2019-2020 Course Director: John Summers, Manager, Heritage Services and Curator, Regional Municipality of Halton; Meredith Leonard, Education and Community Coordinator, Halton Heritage Services
 
Museums and the Community
 
Format: Face-to-face or online in alternating years (2019-2020: Face-to-face)
 
Participants will gain the knowledge and skills required to coordinate the objectives and activities of the museum with the specific needs of its communities.  The course is designed to look at a wide range of issues facing museums in their search for audiences and support.  Emphasis will be placed on finding practical solutions and sharing ideas.  Core topics: relationships between Canadian museums and their communities in a rapidly-changing social, political and cultural environment re: programming, mission statements, audience development, marketing and fundraising; tools and practical solutions to negotiate support from potential sponsors and to communicate effectively with target audiences.
 

2019-2020 Course Director: Dr. Amy Barron, Faculty, Fleming College and Program Coordinator, Clarington Musuems and Archives 

 
Museums in Context
 
Format: Online
 
Participants are introduced to the social history and development of museums through an exploration of a series of themes and contexts. These include: The Historical Context (museum origins; Towards a Contemporary Definition of "Museum"), The Professional Context (Changing Nature of the Museum Workforce; Tools to Support Professionalism), The Social Context (Museums & Forces of Change, Envisioning the Future of Museums).
 

2019-2020 Course Director: Amber Lloydlangston, Curator, Regional History, Museum London

 
Museums in Historic Buildings (Facilities Management)
 
Format: Face-to-face
 

Participants will acquire the knowledge and techniques required to manage a museum within the context of an historic building, and to care for the historic building as an artifact. The objective of this course is to familiarize participants with the activities and concerns involved in the careful conservation of the historic building, particularly as they relate to the building’s use as a museum. Core topics: researching a building, the historic building as artifact, planning museum space & system needs, realizing a capital project, museum as a public facility, maintenance of building and grounds, programming the historic building.

2019-2020 Course Directors: Marc Letourneau, Principal, Letourneau Heritage Consulting and Gordon Robinson, Project Manager & Senior Museum Consultant, Letourneau Heritage Consulting 

 

Organization and Management of Museums
 
Format: Online
 

Participants will acquire a broad understanding of how museums and galleries are managed in Canada. Through readings, case studies, and discussions, course participants will develop and understanding of key concepts in museum management including; Governance and Management; Administration (Policies / Finances / Human Resources); Strategic Management; and Leadership.

 

2019-2020 Course Director: Joan Kanigan, CEO, Western Development Museum