eNews alert: Get Ready for Tuesday!

Feb 14, 2018
Welcome MPPs back to Queen's Park
on Tuesday, Heritage Week!

This Heritage Week (Feb 19-25), keep $5M for CMOG on the agenda for Ontario's MPPs

On Tuesday, Feb 20th, MPPs return to Queen's Park for the first legislative sessions of 2018.  Ontario's museums are sharing their experiences and opportunities with public officials and requesting support for increased operating funding ($5M to the Community Museum Operating Grant (CMOG) program in the 2018 Budget). For background information on this request, please click HERE.


Get Involved!

Family Day and Heritage Week

On Monday, share photos of your museum's Family Day programming with your MPP!

Tell them why you offer Family Day programming and celebrate heritage and how it enriches your community. 

To tweet this image to Minister of Finance Charles Sousa (@SousaCharles), and Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport Daiene Vernile (@DaieneVernile) AND #ONpoli, click HERE

Find your MPP HERE
Find you MPP on Twitter HERE


Heritage Week, Feb 19-26

Click HERE to tweet this image and 'Welcome Back to Queen's Park' to the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport. 

Add your own MPP as well! 

Click HERE to tweet this image to Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport Daiene Vernile and Minister of Finance Charles Sousa. Add your own MPP too! 
$5M for CMOG Update

The following MPPs heard directly from Ontario Museums and OMA Members: 

  • MPP Armstrong (London - Fanshawe)
  • MPP Bradley (St. Catharines)
  • MPP Campbell (Kenora - Rainy River)
  • Min Chan (Markham - Unionville)
  • MPP Clark (Leeds Grenville)
  • Min Coteau (Don Valley East)
  • Min Des Rosiers (Ottawa - Vanier)
  • MPP Dickson (Ajax - Pickering)
  • MPP Dong (Trinity - Spadina)
  • MPP French (Oshawa)
  • MPP Forster (Welland)
  • MPP Gravelle (Thunder Bay - Superior North)
  • Min Jaczek (Oak Ridges - Markham)
  • MPP Kiwala (Kingston and the Islands)
  • Min Levac (Brant)
  • MPP MacLaren (Carleton - Mississippi Mills)
  • Min Malhi (Brampton - Springdale)
  • MPP Mangat (Mississauga - Brampton South)
  • Min Matthews (London North Centre)
  • Min McGarry (Cambridge)
  • MPP McNaughton (Lambton - Kent - Middlesex)
  • Min Naidoo-Harris (Halton)
  • Min Naqvi (Ottawa Centre)
  • MPP Potts (Beaches - East York)
  • MPP Rinaldi (Northumberland - Quinte West)
  • MPP Sandals (Guelph)
  • Min Sousa (Mississauga South)
  • Gillian Smith (PC Candidate)
  • Min Thibeault (Sudbury)
  • MPP Thompson (Huron - Bruce)
  • MPP Walker (Bruce - Grey - Owen Sound)
  • MPP Wilson (Simcoe - Grey) 
  • MPP Yakabuski (Renfrew - Nipissing - Pembroke)
  • Min Zimmer (Willowdale) 
Don't see your MPP here? Get in touch with them directly, use letter templates, key messages and other resources at the OMA website. Contact partners@museumsontario.ca to find out more!

Tweet Inspiration: See what other members are sending to their MPPs! 

For any questions or comments, please contact Marie Lalonde, Executive Director, mlalonde@museumsontario.ca and  Michela Comparey at partners@museumsontario.ca or by phone at: 416-348-8672
Ontario Museum Association
Monday-Friday, 9:00am - 5:00pm
Toll-free in ON: 1-866-662-8672
Phone: 416-348-8672
Fax: 416-348-0438