eNews Alert: Sylvia Jones, Minister of Culture

Jun 29, 2018
View this email in your browser

MPP Sylvia Jones Appointed New Minister of Tourism, Culture, & Sport

On June 29, Premier Doug Ford was sworn into office and announced his Cabinet. 
  • The previous administration had 28 Ministers overseeing 30 areas
  • The new Cabinet has 21 ministers
  • MPP Sylvia Jones (Dufferin-Caledon) was appointed  Minister for Tourism, Culture, and Sport
  • For all Cabinet appointments, click HERE

Please scroll down for links to media coverage. 

As before, The OMA and Ontario Museum Sector will continue our efforts to communicate the value and importance of Ontario's Museums. 

Here’s what museums can do right now to support strong government relationships going forward:

  • Introduce yourself to your MPP (in person, on twitter, by letter, or email)
  • Get to know them and their priorities for your community, and think about how your museum addresses these issues
  • Invite them to your museum events over the summer months

Read more about the Cabinet appointments: 

Find your riding HERE
Find out who your MPP is HERE
Keep an eye out for ONmuseums dedicated to advocacy for tools, resources, and updates on our advocacy initiatives.

The tips in Ontario Election and Your Museum are still a good reference! 

For any questions or comments, please contact Marie Lalonde, Executive Director, mlalonde@museumsontario.ca and Michela Comparey at partners@museumsontario.ca or by phone at: 416-348-8672 or toll free, 1 866 662 8672. 

Ontario Museum Association
Monday-Friday, 9:00am - 5:00pm
Toll-free in ON: 1-866-662-8672
Phone: 416-348-8672
Fax: 416-348-0438