RBWM Historical Society - Schoolhouse Museum
The School House Museum is owned and operated by the Rolph, Buchanan, Wylie & McKay Historical Society. It contains a unique collections of artifacts and photographs -some dating back to the 1800's - illustrating the history of the in the Upper Ottawa Valley, including the Town of Laurentian Hills and Deep River ( formerly the four townships of Rolph, Buchanan, Wylie and McKay (RBWM) which also originally included Deep River). The Museum many facets of local history such as Lumbering, Hydro Electric and Nuclear Power development, railroads, pioneer farming, highway construction, life on and along the Ottawa River in the Upper Ottawa Valley. Social institutions, schools, churches, Scouting, Women's Institutes, etc are represented.
The Museum has 4 main building on the grounds as well as artifacts on the grounds:
The Schoolhouse - this is a reconstructed building based on the original Rolph SS#3 Schoolhouse which was located on the site.
The Church - this church was originally located in the Rolphton Colony and was moved to the museum when the colony closed.
The Log House - the building was reconstructed from an old 2 storey log home from the pontiac which was donated and then salvaged/dismantled. , moved and reconstructed by museum volunteers. The authentic Log House is fully furnished.
The Shed - this large shed built on the site to house farming and logging implements.
The Tugboat -
The Caboose - CP Rail Caboose Donated by George Viens